Background Image
Background Image

Doherty Scholars Program

The Doherty Scholars Program invites nominations and applications

from prospective and current Alverno students. We seek students who demonstrate the potential for strong scholarly accomplishment and curiosity, an understanding of yourself as a learner, and the ability to take initiative to collaboratively learn with your faculty and peers.

The Doherty Scholars is a learning community selected by the Center for Academic Excellence. It draws together students from across the college who are looking for peers to challenge them and resources and opportunities for academic growth and excellence.

There are three pathways into the Scholars

  • Recommendation from Admissions or Advising
  • Recommendation from a faculty member or academic staff person
  • Student self-nomination supported by a faculty/staff/mentor recommendation


Doherty Scholars (Spring 2019)

Alvarez, Montse
Anderson, True
Andrzejewski, Olivia
Aspenson, Hayley
Awawdeh, Gadeer
Babcock, Carissa
Backes, Katie
Barker, Anna
Baumann, Jenna
Becerra, Stephanie
Blankenburg, Brianna
Bruders, Abigail
Carlos, Ashely
Chang, Dear
Dittrich, Alexandra
Erdmann, Emily
Fierro-Padilla, Jennifer
Frias, Fabiola
Gambill, Lauren
Goodle, Sarah
Goodman, Brittni
Gunn-Turki, Natalya
Hafner, Raquel
Halser, Miranda
Hamann, Alison
Harms, Kate
Henry, Rachel
Hernandez-Bustos, Athziri
Hoban, Kathryn
Ivins, Erica
Jackson, Simone
Johnson, Santana
Kargol, Miranda
Kertz, Carlie
Kesner, Veronica
Klemann, Mariah
Kurer, Katherine
Larsen, Jennifer
Lemner, Morgan
Lessard, Taylor
Lewis, Camille
Lewis-Taylor, Donna
Manjarrez-Renteria, Denise
McLain, Hailey
McMath, Alexandria
Miller, Shelby
Miner, Janae
Molinari, Robin
Moreno, Gaby
Najera, Maria
Ortiz, Kathryn
Otzelberger, Kimberly
Parlier, Grace
Pearson, Sarah
Perry, Devynn
Podemski, Caitlin
Prondzinski, Ashley
Ralston, Adelaide
Ross, Emily
Ruiz, Guadalupe
Rutowski, Abbie
Saldana, Naomi
Salinas, Alejandra
Sanchez, Nancy
Sandoval, Jacqueline
Sarson, Marissa
Seifert, Isabelle
Sellers, Jia
Sierra, Laura
Springsteen, Abby
Stanfel, Ashlee
Stankey, Brianna
Stueckrath, Miranda
Stypinski, Desiree
Taylor, Tatiana
Teran Sierra, Jesica
Turner, Jessa
Tzitzis, Victoria
Vang, Naly
Veit, Amanda
Walker, Brianna
Washington, Ashley
Watson, Alexis
Watson, Katherine
Williams, Carmen
Williams, Monique
Williams Obiweluozor, Trisha
Windt, Victoria
Xiong, Sunshine
Xiong, Yuliani
Yang, Colleen
Zakrzewski, Lydia
Zehner, Donna

About Sr. Austin Doherty, Ph.D.
The Doherty Scholars program honors the legacy of Sister Austin Doherty, a passionate and effective scholar whose ideas and actions shaped the academic experiences of Alverno students, faculty and staff. Doherty was a vital inspiration for and founder of Alverno’s ability-based curriculum. A significant leader in the national movement to reform college education and a founding member of the National Organization for Women, Doherty deeply believed in the college’s mission to educate women through its abilities-based curriculum. She was known internationally as a dynamic, caring and risk-taking educator. Sister Austin Doherty retired from the college in 2013, and passed away in 2015.
Center for Academic Excellence >